ESA logoOn 20 January 2011 Romania signed the Accession Agreement to the ESA Convention becoming the 19th ESA Member State.

The ceremony got together Jean-Jacques Dordain (ESA Director General) with the Romanian representatives Teodor Baconschi (Minister of Foreign Affairs), Marius-Ioan Piso (President and CEO of the Romanian Space Agency) and cosmonaut Dumitru Dorin Prunariu (Chairman of the Board of the Romanian Space Agency).

This membership offers the opportunity for Romania to participate – directly or within consortia – in ESA’s programmes, covering domains such as: Earth Observation, Telecommunications, Global Navigation Satellite Systems as well as applications for International Space Station and Micro Gravitation Researches.

TERRASIGNA (former ASRC) collaborates for several years with ESA for developing educational software for EDUSPACE: LEOWorks, Interactive Meteosat.

For more information, please contact us.